To Blog or Not to Blog?

SHE SAID

To blog or not to blog ….. that has been the question in the back of my mind for a while now.  Why blog about your finances and financial struggles?  Why risk the public humiliation?  As with anything, there are pros and cons.

  • Pros:  We share our trials and triumphs with others; Accountability for our actions; We learn from others in internet land tips and tricks; We get to do the happy dance when we succeed; Probably be used an example for ‘what-not-to-do’
  • Cons:  We become an open book so will others like what they are reading?; We fail, we write, we feel worse; We give bad advice and hurt others; We are now required to be honest about all of our debt and spending – and it’s not pretty!

In the end, “To Blog” was circled with a green sharpie.  The deciding factor?  I do not have to do this alone.  My wonderful husband who has known me for almost 20 years has agreed to venture into the blogoshpere with me and co-chair this adventure.

HE SAID

My first thought is where in the world did she find a green sharpie?  I spent literally hours looking for anything other than an unsharpened pencil the other day and she apparently has a rainbow of sharpies stashed away. Two Hearts

My beautiful wife has had this idea of digitally journaling our struggles and triumphs…and I honestly admit I was reluctant.  To me, we have this immovable mountain in front of us and, while we didn’t discuss its existence, we could live in the happy valley of deniability.  My job, for the longest time, has been moving the 1’s and 0’s around on the budget to keep the bills paid, food on the table, and the roof over our heads.  The shadow of the mountain has grown now that we cannot ignore it anymore.  A painful example was just trying to rent a car recently.  After digging thru several cards just trying to find one with at least $250 of credit available, you realize that the mountain is winning, whether we want to admit it or not.  We have no other choice but to trudge up that mountain and beat it…before we are lost forever in its shadow.

The question at hand though is why do this blog.  The answer for me is simple…our kids.  We always want our kids to do better than us, and we have done better than our parents.  But, we have been so stupid about so many things getting to this point, that I don’t want them to relive our past mistakes.  They are 4 and 10 years old today, but credit card companies and car loans and student debt are not that far away.  If this blog can break this cycle before it begins for them, then, to me, it is worth it.  So when they reach the age we are now, they can enjoy the fruits of their labors rather than paying for the mistakes of their past.

So, the adventure begins, hand in hand, as we walk up the mountain of this debt.  Whether we win or lose publicly, my wife, partner, and best friend will be with me every step of the way.  I would have it no other way.

This entry was posted in Introduction. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

